Contesting paternity in Ukraine

According to Ukrainian legislation, the child’s descent from parents gives rise to their rights and obligations in relation to him. This fact is legally fixed in the registry office. But it so happens that for a number of reasons, the father may require the exclusion of a mark about him as the baby’s father from the record of the child’s birth. Contesting paternity is a right guaranteed by the SKU, and in particular, Art. 122, 124, 126 and 127.
Оспаривание отцовства 1

When it is possible to contest paternity

Only a person who is indicated in the birth certificate of a child can submit a statement of claim to contest paternity. This document is issued at the registry office and is automatically entered as a father by a person who is legally married to the child’s mother. Also, a spouse is recognized as a parent, even if he no longer lives with his wife or after a divorce from her. But this rule is valid only for three hundred days from the moment of separation.

Paternity can be challenged by a man who recognized the child as his own, although he was not married to his mother at that time. At the same time, if the official father knew during the acknowledgment of paternity that he was not the biological father of the baby and still recognized him, then he can no longer sue. This also applies to persons who have consented to the use of assisted reproductive technologies.

It is worth noting that paternity can only be challenged from the birth of a child until the moment he reaches the age of eighteen, and also that the statute of limitations does not apply to this case.

Reasons for challenging paternity

Оспаривание отцовства 2The procedure for challenging paternity is carried out only through a judicial institution. That is, in any case, even if there is no dispute between the spouse and the spouse about this, it is possible to change the record of the child’s father only through the court.

The most common reasons for filing a statement of claim in court on this issue are:

  1. The desire of the actual father of the baby to secure this status legally. This situation arises when the registry office records a child with an official spouse, with whom the wife has not lived for a long time, but is married.
  2. The woman’s betrayal or other circumstances that led to the fact that the man indicated in the record as the father of the child is actually not him.
  3. Other interested persons (mother, guardian, child who have reached the age of majority) who wish to terminate the legal relationship between the child and the non-biological father can also file a claim to contest paternity.

Obtaining a court decision

Evidence will be required to obtain a court decision that you are not the biological parent of the child. Such evidence can serve as:

  1. The conclusion of the examination for establishing consanguinity.
  2. Travel tickets, travel tickets, hotel checks and other supporting documentation confirming the husband’s long stay away from his wife.
  3. Written testimony of witnesses about indirect or direct evidence of his wife’s betrayal.

Of course, the main and indisputable proof will be genetic examination. But the defendant may refuse to hold such an event. In this case, the plaintiff may demand from the judicial institution the compulsory appointment of an examination. If the mother of the child continues to resist and the procedure becomes impossible, then on the basis of this, the court can recognize the fact for the establishment of which this examination was appointed.

After receiving a positive court decision, the plaintiff must submit an application to the registry office at the place of his registration to remove information about his paternity from the child’s birth certificate. It is also worth noting that all legal costs, which include the genetic examination, are borne by the losing party.

Оспаривание отцовства в Украине

Согласно украинскому законодательству происхождение ребенка от родителей порождает их права и обязанности по отношению к нему. Данный факт закрепляется юридически в ЗАГСе. Но бывает так, что по ряду причин отец может требовать исключения пометки о нем как об отце малыша из актовой записи о рождении ребенка. Оспаривание отцовства – это право гарантированное СКУ, а в частности, ст. 122, 124, 126 и 127.Оспаривание отцовства 1

Когда возможно оспаривание отцовства

Подать исковое заявление об оспаривании отцовства может только лицо, которое указано в актовой записи о рождении ребенка. Этот документ выдается в ЗАГСе и в него автоматически вписывается как отец лицо, находящееся в законном браке с матерью ребенка. Также супруг признается родителем, даже если он уже не проживает со своей женой или после развода с ней. Но это правило действует только на протяжении трехсот дней с момента расставания.

Оспаривать отцовство может мужчина, который признал ребенка своим, хотя в браке с матерью в это время не находился. В то же время если официальный папаша знал во время признания отцовства, что он не является биологическим отцом малыша и все равно признал его, то он уже не может подавать в суд. Это относится и к лицам, давшим согласие на использование вспомогательных репродуктивных технологий.

Стоит отметить что отцовство можно оспорить только в период от рождения ребенка и до момента достижения им восемнадцатилетия, а также что исковая давность к данному делу не применяется.

Причины оспаривания отцовства

Оспаривание отцовства 2Процедура оспаривания отцовства проводится только через судебное учреждение. То есть в любом случае, даже если между супругом и супругой нет спора по этому поводу, изменить актовую запись об отце ребенка возможно исключительно через суд.

Наиболее частыми причинами для подачи искового заявления в суд по данному вопросу являются:

  1. Желание фактического отца малыша закрепить за собой этот статус юридически. Такая ситуация возникает в случае записи ЗАГСом ребенка на официального супруга, с которым жена уже долгое время не живет, но состоит в браке.
  2. Измена женщины или другие обстоятельства, которые привели к тому, что мужчина, указанный в актовой записи как отец ребенка, фактически им не является.
  3. Также подавать иск об оспаривании отцовства могут другие заинтересованные лица (мать, опекун, ребенок, достигший совершеннолетия), желающие прекратить правовые отношения между ребенком и небиологическим отцом.

Получение решения суда

Для получения решения суда о том, что вы не являетесь биологическим родителем ребенка, потребуется предоставить доказательства. Такими доказательствами могут послужить:

  1. Заключение экспертизы на предмет установления кровного родства.
  2. Командировочные листы, проездные билеты, гостиничные чеки и другая оправдательная документация, подтверждающая продолжительное пребывание мужа вдали от жены.
  3. Письменные показания свидетелей о косвенных или прямых доказательствах измены жены.

Конечно, главным и неоспоримым доказательством будет генетическая экспертиза. Но ответчик может отказаться от проведения такого мероприятия. В таком случае истец может потребовать у судебного учреждения принудительного назначения экспертизы. Если мать ребенка будет продолжать упираться и проведение процедуры станет невозможным, то на основании этого суд может признать факт, для установления которого эта экспертиза была назначена.

После получения положительного решения суда истцу необходимо подать заявление в ЗАГС по месту своей прописки для изъятия сведений о его отцовстве из актовой записи о рождении ребенка. Также стоит отметить что все судебные расходы, к которым относится и проведение генетической экспертизы ложатся на проигравшую сторону.

Далее представлено видео с консультацией юристов описывающее оспаривание отцовства в Украине.