Compensation for moral damage

Compensation for moral damage is a rather exotic phenomenon for our country, but statistics show that people are increasingly resorting to this procedure. The Constitution of Ukraine guarantees citizens the inviolability of rights and freedoms, life and dignity, as well as the right to compensation for moral harm. At the same time, due to the insufficient development of this institution of law, decisions in such cases are often made intuitively, based on generally accepted social values ​​and stereotypes.

Возмещение морального ущерба 1The concept of moral damage

According to the legislation of Ukraine, moral damage is the non-material loss of a person due to the infliction of moral, physical suffering or other forms of harm from the illegal actions or inaction of other persons.

The concept of moral damage includes:

  • Intentionally degrading the honor, dignity or reputation of a person in the business community;
  • Mental suffering due to damage to health;
  • Harm caused by violation of a person’s property rights;
  • Violation of all types of civil rights, including consumer rights;
  • Moral harm as a result of being under illegal investigation or court;
  • Suffering from the impossibility of leading a normal social life and relationships with people due to illegal actions;
  • Suffering from the destruction of a person’s property;
  • Other negative consequences of illegal actions.

Determination of the amount of moral damage

In order to calculate the damage caused, an examination is carried out. But in some cases, the amount of damage is determined by the court. For the calculation, the following factors are taken as a basis:

  • The nature of the illegal actions and the degree of mental and physical suffering inflicted;
  • Loss of a person’s abilities or limitation in the possibility of their use;
  • The degree of guilt of the offender, provided that guilt is the basis for compensation for moral damage;
  • Other circumstances of high importance.

To correctly determine the amount of compensation for moral damage, an expert psychologist must have special skills and knowledge that guarantee an objective assessment of the amount of compensation, taking into account the subjective personality traits of the victim. The purpose of the examination is to identify the individual psychological properties of a person and his emotional reactions under the influence of life circumstances.
Возмещение морального ущерба 2It is worth noting that due to insufficient practice in cases of compensation for moral damage, the Ukrainian courts cannot always adequately and correctly determine the amount of compensation. There are cases when, with the same degree of disability, different courts have assigned different amounts of material compensation.

Drawing up a claim for compensation for moral damage

Drawing up a claim should be given special attention, since the success of the whole case depends on it. The document must contain clearly formulated requirements for the defendant and provide evidence of his guilt. In addition, it is necessary to provide all possible written evidence of the infliction of physical and mental suffering. These can be: hospital certificates, X-rays, protocols, and other documents.

The claim for compensation for moral damage must indicate:

  • The name of the judicial institution to which the application is submitted;
  • Name of the plaintiff, his address and contacts;
  • Full name of the defendant;
  • Description of illegal actions and harm caused to the plaintiff;
  • Evidence and facts of receiving damage;
  • If the claim is subject to assessment, its estimated value;
  • List of the attached package of documents.

You can download a sample claim here. Still, it is worth noting that it is better not to rely only on yourself when drafting a claim. For a successful outcome of the event, it makes sense to consult with an experienced lawyer.

Возмещение морального ущерба

Возмещение морального ущерба – это довольно экзотическое для нашей страны явление, но статистика гласит, что люди все чаще прибегают к данной процедуре. Конституция Украины гарантирует гражданам неприкосновенность прав и свобод, жизни и достоинства, а также право на возмещение морального вреда. В то же время по причине недостаточного развития данного института права, решения по подобным делам часто принимаются интуитивно, на основании общепринятых общественных ценностей и стереотипов.

Возмещение морального ущерба 1Понятие морального ущерба

Согласно законодательству Украины моральный ущерб – это нематериальные потери лица вследствие причинения ему моральных, физических страданий или других форм вреда от неправомерных действий или бездействия иных лиц.

Понятие морального ущерба включает:

  • Преднамеренное унижение чести, достоинства или репутации лица в деловых кругах;
  • Душевные страдания по причине ущерба здоровью;
  • Вред, нанесенный нарушением права собственности лица;
  • Нарушение всех видов гражданских прав, в том числе и потребительских;
  • Моральный вред в следствие нахождение под незаконным следствием или судом;
  • Страдания от невозможности ведения нормальной общественной жизни и взаимоотношений с людьми по причине неправомерных действий;
  • Страдания от уничтожения собственности лица;
  • Другие негативные последствия незаконных действий.

Определение размера морального ущерба

Чтобы произвести расчет нанесенного вреда производится экспертиза. Но в некоторых случая размер ущерба определяется судом. Для расчета берутся за основу такие факторы:

  • Характер незаконных действий и степень, нанесенных моральных и физических страданий;
  • Потеря лицом способностей или ограничение в возможности их применения;
  • Степень вины преступника, при условии, что вина – основание для возмещения морального вреда;
  • Иные обстоятельства, имеющие высокую значимость.

Для правильного определения размера возмещения морального ущерба, эксперт-психолог должен обладать специальными навыками и знаниями, которые гарантируют объективную оценку размера компенсации с учетом субъективных свойств личности пострадавшего. Целью экспертизы, является выявление индивидуально-психологических свойств лица и его эмоциональных реакций под воздействие жизненных обстоятельств.

Возмещение морального ущерба 2Стоит отметить что вследствие недостаточной практики по делам возмещения морального ущерба, Украинские суды не всегда могут адекватно и правильно определить вреди размер компенсации. Имеются случаи, когда при одинаковой степени потери трудоспособности, разными судами были назначены разные суммы материального возмещения.

Составление иска на возмещение морального ущерба

Составлению иска стоит уделить особое внимание, так как от этого зависит успешность всего дела. В документе должны быть четко сформулированные требования к ответчику и предъявлены доказательства его вины. К тому же необходимо предоставить все возможные письменные подтверждения нанесения физических и душевных страданий. Это могут быть: справки с больницы, рентгеновские снимки, протоколы и другие документы.

В иске на возмещение морального вреда, должно быть указано:

  • Название судебного учреждения, в которое подается заявление;
  • ФИО истца, его адрес и контакты;
  • ФИО ответчика;
  • Описание противоправных действий и вреда, нанесенного истцу;
  • Доказательства и факты получения ущерба;
  • Если иск подлежит оценке – его оценочная стоимость;
  • Перечень прилагаемого пакета документов.

Скачать образец иска можно здесь. Все же стоит отметить, что лучше не полагаться только на свои силы при составлении иска. Для успешного исхода мероприятия имеет смысл проконсультироваться с опытным юристом.