Punishment for drunk driving in Ukraine

In 2016, the fine for driving a vehicle while intoxicated significantly increased in Ukraine. According to the new legislation, for such an offense, the amount of UAH 10.2 thousand will have to be paid to the state treasury. and lose your driver’s license. For repeated violation of the law, you will need to pay a double fine and lose the right to drive for three years.

Вождение в нетрезвом виде 1Then and now

Prior to the introduction of new laws, drunk driving was subject to a fine of 200 NMDG (UAH 3400) or withdrawal of rights for one year. Now an alternative is not even put between deprivation of rights and a fine, that is, both punishments are imputed. In addition, if a citizen is stopped by traffic cops drunk for the third time in five years, then the driver’s license should be withdrawn for a period of 10 years and a fine of 40.8 thousand hryvnias is paid.

By tightening the punishment for drunk driving, lawmakers hope to reduce road accidents and improve driving safety. Indeed, for many citizens, deprivation of rights for a year or more is a significant punishment.

What is the allowable blood alcohol level?

The permissible level of alcohol in the blood was determined specifically to ensure that people suffering from diseases such as diabetes, indigestion, diarrhea, tooth decay, etc., are not unjustifiably punished. The fact is that these ailments cause an increase in the background alcohol content in the body. At the moment, in Ukraine, the norm is 0.2 ppm.
Вождение в нетрезвом виде 2According to various estimates, it was determined that 0.2 ppm of alcohol in the blood is equivalent to drinking 200 and 100 grams of wine, 0.5 and 0.33 liters of beer, 50 and 30 grams of cognac for men and women, respectively. But it is worth noting that much depends on the weight of a person and the characteristics of his body.

Police officers are only allowed to use certified equipment to determine blood alcohol content. When checking, the driver needs to pay attention to the device used by the traffic cops, since a non-specialized device may not work correctly.

The procedure for testing for alcohol while driving under the influence

In order for the police officer to send the driver to check the presence of alcohol in the body, just one sign of intoxication is enough, such as the presence of an alcoholic odor, slurred speech, inappropriate behavior, a sharp change in the color of the skin of the face, etc. The test is carried out in the presence of two witnesses with drawing up a protocol …

Verification is carried out by a certified tester. If an unacceptable dose of alcohol is detected, an examination certificate is drawn up and the case materials are sent to a judicial institution. If the driver does not agree with the results, he is taken to the medical center, where a doctor is examined and the test is repeated. If a citizen refuses to check, he is automatically deprived of his rights.

In order to pass the test, the inspector has the right to require the driver to get out of the vehicle. After the check, police officers are required to draw up a protocol in which they indicate the identified signs of intoxication. The document also contains information from two witnesses.

It is worth noting that, by law, traffic cops are not allowed to conduct tests such as walking in a straight line, picking up a coin from the ground or touching the nose, since they are not doctors and cannot correctly interpret the results of such checks.

And finally, it must be added that drunk driving is a dangerous crime, both for the life of the driver and those around him. Do not rely on luck and drive after drinking alcohol, because this can lead to disastrous consequences.

Наказание за вождение в нетрезвом виде в Украине

В 2016 году на Украине существенно поднялся штраф за езду на транспортном средстве в состоянии алкогольного опьянения. Согласно новому законодательству за такое правонарушение придется заплатить в госказну сумму 10,2 тыс. грн. и лишиться водительских прав. За повторное же нарушение закона потребуется оплатить штраф в двойном размере и лишиться права вождения на три года.

Вождение в нетрезвом виде 1Тогда и теперь

До введения новых законов за вождение в нетрезвом виде полагался штраф в размере 200 НМДГ (3400 грн) или изъятие прав на один год. Сейчас же даже не ставится альтернатива между лишением прав и штрафом, то есть вменяются оба наказания. К тому же если гражданин остановлен гаишниками нетрезвым в третий раз на протяжении пяти лет, то следует изъятие водительского удостоверения на срок в 10 лет и уплата штрафа в размере 40,8 тыс. грн.

Ужесточением меры наказания за вождение в нетрезвом виде законодатели надеются уменьшить количество ДТП на дорогах и повысить безопасность езды. Ведь для многих граждан лишение прав на год и больше это существенное наказание.

Какая норма алкоголя в крови допустима

Допустимый уровень алкоголя в крови был определен специально для того, чтобы люди, страдающие от таких болезней, как диабет, расстройство желудка, диарея, кариес и др. не были неоправданно наказаны. Дело в том, что эти недуги вызывают повышение фонового содержания алкоголя в организме. На данный момент на Украине норма составляет 0,2 промилле.

По разным подсчетам было определено, что 0,2 промилле алкоголя в крови эквивалентно выпитым 200 и 100 граммам вина, 0,5 и 0,33 литрам пива, 50 и 30 грамм коньяка для мужчин и женщин соответственно. Но стоит отметить что многое зависит от веса человека и особенностей его организма.

Сотрудникам полиции разрешено использовать для определения содержания алкоголя в крови только сертифицированное оборудование. При проверке водителю необходимо обратить внимание на прибор, которым пользуются гаишники, так как неспециализированное приспособление может работать неверно.

Порядок проверки на алкоголь при вождении в нетрезвом виде

Для того чтобы сотрудник полиции направил водителя на проверку наличия алкоголя в организме, достаточно всего одного признака опьянения такого как, наличие алкогольного запаха, невнятной речи, неадекватного поведения, резкое изменение окраски кожного покрова лица и др. Тест проводится в присутствии двух понятых с составлением протокола.

Вождение в нетрезвом виде 2Проверка осуществляется сертифицированным тестером. При выявлении недопустимой дозы алкоголя, составляется акт освидетельствования и происходит отправка материалов дела в судебное учреждение. Если водитель не согласен с результатами, его препровождают в медицинский центр, где осуществляется осмотр врачом и повторно проводят тест. При отказе гражданина от проверки, его лишают прав автоматически.

Для того чтобы пройти тест инспектор вправе требовать от водителя выйти из транспортного средства. После проверки сотрудники полиции обязаны составить протокол, в котором указывают выявленные признаки опьянения. Также в документ заносятся сведения двух свидетелей.

Стоит отметить что по закону гаишники не имеют права проводить такие тесты, как хождение по прямой линии, поднимание монетки с земли или прикасание к носу, так как они не врачи и не могут правильно трактовать результаты подобных проверок.

И напоследок нужно добавить, что вождение в нетрезвом виде – это опасное преступление, причем как для жизни водителя, так и окружающих. Не стоит надеяться наудачу и ездить после выпитого алкоголя, ведь это может привести к плачевным последствиям.